fbpx

Dentist CE Requirements

StateHours of CE RequiredCategories of CE RequiredHow Monitored (attestation or audit)Content Required in Each CategoryNational CE Providers Enumerated in LawLive CE RequiredOnline CE LimitsLinks to Dental Board Website
Alabama0https://www.dentalboard.org/
Alaska2 every 2 yrshttps://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDentalExaminers.aspx/
Arizona0https://dentalboard.az.gov/
Arkansas0https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-state-board-of-dental-examiners
California25 every 2 yrsBasic Life Support, CA Infection ControlCompletion of the mandatory courses: 1. Basic Life Support (BLS) course provided by the American Red Cross (ARC), American Heart Association (AHA), or a provider approved by PACE or CERP. A maximum of 4 credits will be awarded for completion of this course. Online courses will not be accepted for the BLS requirement. The course must include a live, in-person skills practice session, a skills test and a written examination. 2. California Infection Control* – This course must be 2-units and be taken through a Registered Provider approved by the Board to offer this mandatory course. 3. California Dental Practice Act* – This course must be 2-units and be taken through a Registered Provider approved by the Board to offer this mandatory course.https://www.dhbc.ca.gov/
Coloradohttps://dpo.colorado.gov/Dental
Connecticut0https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Public-Health-Hearing-Office/Connecticut-State-Dental-Commission/Connecticut-State-Dental-Commission
Delaware0https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/dental/
Distict of Columbia0https://dchealth.dc.gov/service/dentistry-licensing
Florida0https://floridasdentistry.gov/
Georgia0https://gbd.georgia.gov/
Hawaii0https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/dentist/
Idaho0https://isbd.idaho.gov/IBODPortal/Home.aspx
Illinois0https://www.idfpr.com/profs/dentist.asp
Indiana0https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/indiana-state-board-of-dentistry/
Iowa20 every 2 yrsCPR, Infection Control, Abuse Identification and Reporting, Dept of Human Services Training, Dental RadiographyCPR Required for renewal – can claim up to 3 hours • Infection Control - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. • Iowa Jurisprudence - Must complete a minimum of 1 hour every 2 years • Abuse Identification and Reporting Training -Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every 3 years thereafter. Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for 5 years. • 2 hours for dental assistants with an added qualification in dental radiography.https://dentalboard.iowa.gov/
Kansas0no limithttps://www.dental.ks.gov/
Kentucky0https://dentistry.ky.gov/Pages/index.aspx
Louisiana0http://www.lsbd.org/
Maine50 every 5 yearsCPR  CPRNo more than ten (10) credit hours can be claimed for Distance learning without exit examinationhttps://www.maine.gov/dental/
Maryland0https://health.maryland.gov/dental/Pages/home.aspx
Massachusetts12 every 2 yrshttps://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-in-dentistry
Michigan36 every 3 yrsIdentifying Victims of Human Trafficking, Pain and Symptom Management, behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interactions. Must possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life supportAll dental hygienists and dental assistants, beginning with the 2020 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, are required to have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking. Please note this is a one-time training that is separate from continuing education. Must complete 2 hours of board approved continuing education in pain and symptom management related to the practice of dentistry. CE hours may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interactions. Must possess current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life supporthttps://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72603_27529_27533---,00.html
Minnesota25 every 2 yrsCPR, Infection ControlLicensees must maintain continuous CPR certification. Course must be a healthcare provider level course (BLS) taken through only the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association. Each licensee must complete an infection control course during each biennial cycle period. The self-assessment is based on the core subject areas. This activity is required for each biennial cycle and is worth one (1) fundamental credit.https://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/
Mississippi0https://www.dentalboard.ms.gov/
Missouri0https://pr.mo.gov/dental.asp
Montana0https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/dentistry/
Nebraska30 every 2 yrsInfection Control, Each area for which a licensee holds an expanded function permitA minimum of 2 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in infection control continuing education.  A minimum of 2 hours in a renewal period must be obtained in each area for which a licensee holds an expanded function permithttps://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Dental-Hygienist.aspx
Nevada0https://dental.nv.gov/
New Hampshire0https://www.oplc.nh.gov/dental/
New Jersey10 every 2 yrshttps://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/den
New Mexico30/36 for expanded function every 2 yrsRHS, Infection Control, CPR/BLS3 hour Radiation Health & Safety (RHS course) At least 1 hour of Iinfection Control Current CPR/BLS (cannot be on-line)https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/individual-boards-and-commissions/dental-health-care-overview/
New York0http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/dent/
North Carolina0https://www.ncdentalboard.org/
North Dakota16 every 2 yrsCPR, Infection Control,  Ethics, Sedation or Anesthesia, Permit related coursesA cardiopulmonary resuscitation course; webinar CPR courses must have a hands-on component. A minimum of two hours of infection control education. A minimum of two hours of ethics and/or jurisprudence. General anesthesia and moderate or minimal sedation permit holders must include four hours related to sedation or anesthesia. Registered dental assistants and dental hygienists holding a permit for Dental Anesthesia Assistant or Restorative Functions must include two hours related to the permit.https://www.nddentalboard.org/
Ohio2 every 2 yrsRadiation TechnologyAt least two hours of continuing education in radiation technologyhttps://dental.ohio.gov/
Oklahoma8 every 2 yrsInfection Control  Dental assistants shall have two (2) hours of infection controlhttps://www.ok.gov/dentistry/
Oregon0https://www.oregon.gov/dentistry/Pages/index.aspx
Pennsylvania10 every 2 yrsCoronal Polishing for Expanded Function Dental Asst.Expanded Function Dental Assistants shall complete 3 of the 10 required hours of continuing education in the area of coronal polishinghttps://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Dentistry/Pages/default.aspx
Rhode Island20 every 2 yrsCDC Infection Control, ACLS for the Health Care Provider, CPR, ECCAll DAANCE-certified maxillofacial surgery assistants practicing in a dental setting shall receive a minimum of one (1) hour per year of training on the CDC Infection Control Guidelines All DAANCE-certified maxillofacial surgery assistants practicing in a dental setting shall hold a current certificate of completion of an approved course in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) for the Healthcare Provider that includes a hands-on skill component and conforms to the current American Heart Association Guidelines Update for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiovascular Care (ECC) offered by any accredited agency approved by the Board.https://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=251
South Carolina8 every 2 yrshttps://llr.sc.gov/bod/
South Dakota60https://www.sdboardofdentistry.org/
Tennessee24 every 2 yrsCPR, Chemical Dependency Current CPR A minimum of 2 of the required 24 biennial hours must be obtained in the area of chemical dependency educationhttps://www.tn.gov/content/tn/health/health-program-areas/health-professional-boards/dentistry-board.html
Texas12 every 2 yrsCPRCPRhttps://tsbde.texas.gov/
Utah0https://dopl.utah.gov/dental/index.html
Vermont0Emergency Office ProceduresAll dental assistants shall as a condition of every registration renewal complete a course in emergency office procedureshttps://sos.vermont.gov/dental-examiners/
Virginia0https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Dentistry/
Washington0Nonehttps://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/DentalHygienist
West Virginia20https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/home.aspx
Wisconsin0https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/BoardsCouncils/Dentistry/Default.aspx
Wyominghttps://dental.wyo.gov/